Common Bond

The common bond is the factor which unites the members of a Credit Union together i.e. those living or working in the same area may join a credit union. It defines the area in which a credit union can operate. The common bond ensures that the savings of members of the community are available to fellow members as loans. The common bond is essentially people doing it for themselves.

It demonstrates effectively how a credit union is a credit co-operative with members working together to achieve a better life for themselves.

  • Anyone living, working, attending school, college, training courses in the area below is eligible to become a Member


  • If a member of your household already holds an account in our Credit Union, this also makes you eligible to become a Member


The common bond of St. Anthony’s & Claddagh Credit Union is as follows


St. Anthony’s & Claddagh Credit Union runs from Galway City (from Abbeygate St. outwards in west direction) as far as Furbo and out the N59 as far as Maam Cross).

Includes areas such as:

Galway City Knocknacarra
Claddagh Newcastle
Shantalla Westside
Salthill Barna
Furbo Bushypark/Boleybeg
Moycullen Rosscahill
Oughterard Maam Cross